Distinguished Maine Policy Fellows

Susan Corbet in VEMI Lab
Susan Corbet visiting the VEMI Lab

Distinguished Maine Policy Fellows (DMPF) are individuals with past or current careers as policy makers in Maine – people of distinguished status and extensive experience. Each fellow comes to campus as our guest for a day, teaches an undergraduate class, speaks with faculty about research and public policy, and meets with UMaine administration and graduate students.

For more information regarding the DMPF program explore the links below or contact Amy Blackstone (amy.blackstone@maine.edu).

Past Distingushed Maine Policy Fellows

Since 2006 the Margaret Chase Smith Policy Center has hosted distinguished policy makers from Maine to be guests on campus for a day, interacting with students, faculty, and administrators. Previous fellows include:

  • J. Duke Albanese, Senior Policy Advisor, Great Schools Partnership, Former Maine Commissioner of Education
  • Justin Alfond, Senator and Maine State Senate President
  • Philip Bartlett, Maine State Senator
  • David Bernhardt, Commissioner, Maine Department of Transportation
  • Seth Berry, Maine State Representative
  • Emily Cain, State Representative, Democratic Leader
  • Dana Connors, President, Maine State Chamber of Commerce
  • Susan Corbett, Founder and Director of the National Digital Equity Center
  • The Hon. Charles Cragin
  • Glenn Cummings, Speaker of the Maine House of Representatives
  • John Dorrer, Program Director, in Jobs for the Future’s Building Economic Opportunity Group
  • Matthew Dunlap, Secretary of State
  • Beth Edmunds, Maine Senate President
  • Rep. Ellie Espling, Assistant House Republican Leader
  • Patrick S. A. Flood, State Representative
  • Laura Fortman, Executive Director, Frances Perkins Center
  • Kenneth Fredette, State Representative, House Republican Leader
  • Susan Gendron, Commissioner, Maine Department of Education
  • Sara Gideon, Asst. Majority Leader, Maine House of Representatives
  • Anne Haskell, Assistant Majority Leader
  • Terry Hayes, Maine State Treasurer
  • Erin Herbig, State Representative
  • Dawn Hill, Maine State Senator
  • Meredith H. Jones, President and CEO of the Maine Community Foundation
  • Roger Katz, State Senator
  • Patrick Keliher, Commissioner of Maine Department of Marine Resources
  • Angus King, Former Governor
  • Laurie Lachance, President and CEO of the Maine Development Foundation
  • Dr. Jeanne Lambrew, Commissioner of Maine Department of Health and Human Services
  • George Lapointe, Commissioner of Marine Resources
  • Barbara Leonard, CEO of Maine Health Access Foundation (Watch the Video)
  • David Littell, Maine Department of Environmental Protection Commissioner
  • John L. Martin, State Senator
  • Dr. Dora Anne Mills
  • Janet Mills, Maine Attorney General
  • Peter Mills, Maine State Senator
  • Elizabeth “Libby” Mitchell, Maine State Senator
  • Hannah M. Pingree, Maine House Speaker
  • Kevin Raye, Maine State Senator
  • The Hon. Chris Rector, Regional Representative for US Senator Angus King
  • Catherine S. Renault, Director of Office of Innovation, Maine Dept. of Economic & Community Development
  • John Richardson, Commissioner, Maine Department of Economic and Community Development
  • Trish Riley, Distinguished Visiting Fellow and lecturer in State Health Policy at George Washington University
  • Richard Rosen, Maine State Senator
  • Steven Rowe, Maine Attorney General
  • Thomas Saviello, State Senator
  • Michael Saxl, Former Maine Speaker of the House
  • Barton Seaver, Director, Sustainable Seafood and Health Initiative, Harvard School of Public Health
  • Charles Stanhope, Library of Congress
  • Lauren Sterling, Philanthropic Specialist, Educare Central Maine
  • Josh Tardy, Maine House Republican Leader
  • Michael Thibodeau, President of the Maine State Senate
  • Eliza Townsend, Executive Director of the Maine Women’s Lobby
  • Karl W. Turner, Former State Senator
  • Walter Whitcomb, Maine Commissioner of Agriculture, Conservation, and Forestry
  • Chandler Woodcock, Commissioner of the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife
  • Patrick Woodcock, Director, Maine State Energy Office