Maine House Majority Leader Erin Herbig visits UMaine

On Wednesday, Feb. 21, the Policy Center and the School of Forest Resources sponsored Maine House Majority Leader Erin Herbig as a 2017 Distinguished Maine Policy Fellow. Herbig is currently serving her fourth term in the Maine House of Representatives where she represents House District 97 which includes Belfast, Northport and Waldo.

During her day at UMaine Herbig met with President Sue Hunter and Provost Jeffrey Hecker, visited the Aquaculture Research Institute, UMaine Cooperative Extension, School of Forestry, and the Advanced Manufacturing Center. She also met with students in an innovation start up class. At the end of her busy day at UMaine Herbig was honored in a public reception held at Fogler Library.

Each semester the Margaret Chase Smith Policy Center brings prominent Maine individuals with past or current careers as policy makers in the state to visit campus for a day as Distinguished Maine Policy Fellows.