2017 Maine Policy Scholars Make Final Presentations

On Friday, April 28, the students in the Maine Policy Scholars program delivered their year-end research presentations. Over the academic year, seven undergraduates representing each of the seven campuses of the University of Maine System have conducted research on a topic of personal interest and policy relevance to Maine. The students choose their own policy topic and work throughout the year with a faculty advisor and community mentor to research the topic. All students and advisors meet several times during the year to collaborate on ideas and learn from each other. Each spring students present their work in the form of a policy memo to the governor or legislator and give an oral presentation to the group.

This year’s scholars were:
Emma-Marie Banks from University of Maine at Augusta,
Hannah Cole from University of Maine,
Shawn Cyr from University of Maine at Fort Kent,
Alyssa de Silva from University of Maine at Machias,
Julianne McLaughlin from University of Maine at Farmington,
Idella Thompson from University of Maine at Presque Isle, and
Elizabeth Wilson from University of Southern Maine.

The Maine Policy Scholars Program was conceived by the late Peter Cox as a means of engaging students in the University of Maine System in the public policy process. It is administered by the Maine Community Foundation and the Margaret Chase Smith Policy Center and guided by the Honorable Libby Mitchell.

More information can be found at https://mcspolicycenter.umaine.edu/for-students/maine-policy-scholars/