Policy Center Director Rubin Continues as Environment and Energy Section Chair of National Academies’ Transportation Research Board

Professor Jonathan Rubin, Policy Center Director, was re-appointed for a second 3 year term as Chair of the Environment and Energy Section, ADC00, of the Transportation Research Board (TRB) of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.

The Environment and Energy Section is part of the Planning and Environment Group. It consists of eight committees that propose research, share research findings, sponsor special activities, and provide a forum for transportation professionals to discuss today’s and tomorrow’s environment and energy-related transportation issues. The chairs of each of these committees are members of the Environment and Energy Section Executive Board, who along with the section chair, provide general oversight of the activities within the Section. The committees are Resource Conservation and Recovery, Transportation Energy, Ecology and Transportation, Transportation and Air Quality, Alternative Transportation Fuels and Technologies, Environmental Analysis in Transportation, Historic and Archeological Preservation in Transportation, and Transportation-Related Noise and Vibration.

The Transportation Research Board is one of seven program units of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, which provides independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation and conducts other activities to solve complex problems and inform public policy decisions. Members of the National Academies’ technical committees serve as individuals, not as representatives of the organizations by which they are employed or of which they may be members.